GoPro Video – Fun/log/training tool

One thing I really enjoy about riding is something I’ve brought over from my motorcycling (and ironically stopped doing for the motorcycle). I love making videos of my rides. I only use a simple editing program (windows movie maker) so its nothing fancy.

What it does though is allow me to see my rides again which means I can enjoy the awesome parts and laugh at the crashes and sometimes even see why they occurred such as the crash at the very end of one of the videos I made from Llandegla (see below) I can see on the video I’m still trail breaking into the corner…obviously too hard. It also allows me to see my improvements. Compare the way I teeter down this benign hill in the first video nearly stacking it because of one small rock.

to this affore mentioned video from Llandegla about a year later (incl trail braking crash) even though this is my first ride on the Anthem im much more sorted as a rider and that’s pre Ed Oxley coaching.

Most of all though is the fun. I love to relive the moments from my rides where everything else in life fades to the background and its just me and the trail…or me, RoadRash and the trail….and occaisionally the tribe mbc as well.

So below are a few of my favourite of my videos, some are quite early in my mountain bike riding career. The first of which even saw me strapping the camera to trees to get 3rd person footage.

2 thoughts on “GoPro Video – Fun/log/training tool

  1. Just read all your posts, much more professional than my blog and more interesting too. You can sense a real improvement in your riding from all your posts reading back from the start

    • Thank you. I wouldn’t say more professional but i suppose different because your blog is a diary of your experiences more so than mine is.

      I know I dont have many subscribers but anyone wanting to read the other blog which is about Chris’ return to fitness and his training for various event eg total warrior, 10km races etc please follow the link http://precland.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a comment